First Tech-U Ibadan Courses & Admission Requirements

First Technical University (TECH-U), IBADAN Full List of Accredited Courses, Duration and General Admission Requirements for UTME and Direct Entry Students | List of Accredited Faculties, Departments and Programmes Offered at The First Technical University (Tech-U), Ibadan

The The National Universities Commission (NUC) has given the The Technical University (Tech-U), Ibadan, Oyo State of Nigeria, the approval to commence academic and administrative activities in the 2017/2018 academic session.

In addition, The University has a total of 15 academic programmes fully accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC) after a team of the body visited the University in July to assess its resource readiness for take-off. 

The accreditation and approval by NUC for take-off of academic activities coupled with the support of JAMB made it possible for the University to admit students for the 2017/2018 academic session.

It is on record that Tech-U, an initiative of the present administration in Oyo State, is the first Technical University in Nigeria and West Africa. The University is taking off with two faculties – Faculty Technology and Engineering and Faculty of Natural Sciences.

The Technical University is intended to enhance educational facilities and performance for prospective tertiary education beneficiaries in the state in particular and Nigeria at large.

The Technical University (Tech-U), Ibadan, Oyo State of Nigeria mission is to cultivate a cadre of technical professionals, with requisite entrepreneurial skills, capable of creating jobs and employment.

This will be done by imparting sound theoretical knowledge, and practical skills in various trades and disciplines to students, In this regard, our focus is to provide the training and learning environment that would produce exceptional graduates who are socially conscious and technically competent.

Tech-U is committed to offering degree programmes of international standard through collaboration with international institutions, among others, while appreciating the need for a phased development to reach the desired goal through such international partnerships.

Uniqueness ( Essential Niches) of the University

  • Promotion of Entreprenership is our Core mission by engaging world-class faculty, students, and staff in a world-class environment
  • Production of Graduates with skills for employment generation
  • Production of Graduates who are agents of positive change in the society
  • Creation of wealth,assisting students and alumni in creating business enterprises
  • Cultivation of strong and dynamic partnership with industry corporations, and other universities.
  • Creation of wealth,providing incubation for industrial enterprises
  • In addition to classroom work, students will be exposed to experimental learning through mandatory co-ops as an objective.



  1. Faculty of Engineering and Technology
  2. Faculty of Natural Sciences
  3. Centre for Languages & General Studies
  4. Centre for Vocational and Entrepreneurial Studies
  5. Research, Development and Innovation Unit


  1. Department of Biological Sciences
  2. Department of Biomedical & Environmental Engineering
  3. Department of Computational Sciences
  4. Department of Electrical & Mechanical Engineering
  5. Department of Mathematics & Statistics
  6. Department of Mining & Geological Engineering
  7. Department of Physical Sciences


  1. Computer Science (CSC)
  2. Cyber Security (CYB)
  3. Industrial Chemistry (ICH)
  4. Mathematics (MTH)
  5. Microbiology (MCB)
  6. Physics with Electronics (PHE)
  7. Software Engineering (SEG)
  8. Statistics (STA)
  9. Agricultural Engineering (AGE)
  10. Biomedical Engineering (BME)
  11. Electrical and Electronics Engineering (EEE)
  12. Food Science and Technology
  13. Mechanical Engineering (MCE)
  14. Mechatronics Engineering (MCT)
  15. Petroleum Engineering (PEE)


The normal duration of the programme is four academic sessions for students admitted to 100 – level through the UTME and three academic sessions for those admitted into 200 – level by Direct Entry. 
Students that fail to graduate at the end of normal academic sessions shall not be allowed to exceed a total of 12 semesters in the case of UTME students and 10 semesters in the case of Direct Entry students.


UTME Admission

Students seeking admission must satisfy the general University entrance requirements and should normally have: 

Minimum of five Ordinary Level (SSCE or NECO) credit passes in English Language, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and any other subjects from Biology or/and Agriculture at NOT more than two (2) sittings.

Minimum UTME/Post-UTME score for admission into the Department which shall be determined by the University admission committee Without prejudice to (ii) above, the UTME subjects are: English Language, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics

Direct Entry Admission

Students seeking admission to 200 Level must possess: 

ND at Upper Credit Level or equivalent in Electrical or Computer Engineering or related discipline from recognized institutions.

Good passes at the General Certificate of Education (Advanced Level) or its equivalent in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics.

For Tech-U’s Application Forms, Academic Calendar, School Fees and other relevant information will be made available to prospective students, their parents/guardians and other stakeholders via the links on this website. 

For more enquiries, including international applicants seeking admission into the Technical University (Tech-U), Ibadan, please contact:

Tel: Admission: +234 705 548 7163
Enquires: +234 803 526 2070
Email: Info: [email protected]
Admission: [email protected]