AKSU Students Union Election | e-Voting & Registration Guidelines

Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU) Students' Union (SU) Executive and Parliamentary Posts Election e-Voting Schedule, Registration Guidelines and Procedures for Students of the Institution for 2020/2021 Academic Session.

The 2020/2021 Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU) Students’ Union Executive and Parliamentary election will hold on 26th August, 2021.

AKSU Students' Union Election e-Voting Registration Guidelines 2020/2021

This is to inform the entire students populace that the guidelines/eligibility for the upcoming SUG Elections into executive and Parliamentary posts have been released. Below are the Guidelines;

  • ELECTIONS DATE - 26th August, 2021
  • VOTING TIME - 9am - 2:30pm

1. Aspirants contesting for the office of the President and Secretary General must have CGPA of 3.50 and above. Other executive offices including parliamentarians are open to Students with 3.00 CGPA

2. The aspirant must be of good behavior, unquestionable Character and of proven integrity.

3. All aspirants for the Executive and Parliamentary elections must present themselves to the Electoral Commision for screening on Thursday 12th August, 2021 at Students Affairs, Main Campus, Ikot Akpaden by 9.00am

4. All aspirants for the Executive and Parliamentary Elections must present themselves to the Chief Security Officer (CS0) for screening on Monday 16th August, 2021 at the Security Unit, Main Campus, Ikot Akpaden by 9.00am.

5. All aspirants must forward names of their agents with a passport photograph to the Secretary, Electoral Commission one (1) week before the date of elections.

6. Agents are to observe and report any act of misconduct to the electoral Officials. Also, any agent that conduct himself or herself in a disorderly manner or disrupt the electioneering process shall be made to face disciplinary action in accordance with the extant laves of the University.

7. Aspirants or candidates who campaign when ban on political activities has not been lifted shall be disqualified. Also any candidates supporter who choose to campaign within the ban on political activity shall risk his or her candidates' disqualification.

8. Campaigns are highly prohibited on the date of the Elections. In other words, stop 24hours to the voting proper.

9. Election observers must obtain clearance through their application from the Secretary, Electoral Commission one (1) week to the date of election before being allowed to observe the election.

10. Presentation of manifesto by candidates is scheduled as follows: a Main campus, Tuesday 24th August, 2021 at TETFund Pavilon, ikot Akpaden, 10:00am to 2.00pm & Obe Akpa campus, Wednesday 25th August, 2021 at TETFund Hall, 10:00am to 2:00pm

11. Voting hall be done through e-voting

All students who wish to contest in the forth-coming Students Union Executive/Parliamentary election, to do so, by paying the stipulated amount for the purchase of nomination form for any of the offices listed below at the Students' Account Unit (Bursary) of the University and present the receipt to Students Affairs for collection of Nominations Forms

Sales of nomination forms commence on Thursday 5th Friday - 6th August 2021 and returned of the completed forms to the same point of collection is from Tuesday 10th - Wednesday 11th August 2021.

Note: collection and returning of nomination forms is to be submitted between the hours of 9.00am to 3.00pm

1. President - #10,000
2. Vice president - #7,000
3. Secretary - #5,000
4. Assistant secretary - #5,000
5. Financial secretary - #5,000
6. Treasurer - #5,000
7. Director of sport - #5,000
8. Director of welfare - #5,000
9. Director of socials - #5,000
10. Director of transport - #5,000
11.Director of information - #5,000
12.Parliamentarians - #5,000