LASG to Pay Minimum Wage for Workers in State-Owned Tertiary Institutions

Lagos State Government (LASG) Under the Leadership of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu Has Agreed to Pay New Minimum Wage for Workers in the State-Owned Tertiary Institution Starting from October 2020.

The Lagos state government has met with leaders of staff unions in state-owned tertiary institutions and has agreed to pay the new minimum wage for workers starting from October 2020.

The meeting held on Tuesday in Ikeja following a protest by union workers accusing the state government of non-payment of the monthly N30,000 minimum wage to their members, which prompted them to lock the gates to the institutions on Monday.

While reiterating the commitment of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu to education and workers welfare, the Special Adviser on Education to the Governor, Mr Tokunbo Wahab said the payment made to the workers is part of the government’s effort to maintain peace on the campuses.

Among the tertiary institutions whose workers will benefit from the development include Lagos State University (LASU), Ojo, Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH), Ikorodu, Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (ACOED), Ijanikin, Michael Otedola College of Primary Education, Epe among others.

Some of the staff unions involved are the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), the Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) and the National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT), the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP), Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Polytechnics (SSANIP) and the College of Education Academic Staff Union (COEASU).