Nigerian Senate Passes Bill to Establish 7 New Law Schools

Nigerian Senate Has Passed a Bill to Establish Seven (7) New and Additional Law Schools and Campuses in the Country.

The Nigerian Senate has passed a bill seeking to establish additional law school campuses across the country. The bill was sponsored by a lawmaker representing Kogi West Senatorial District, Senator Smart Adeyemi, and was passed on Tuesday, February 8.

The new bill was passed following a report presented by the Chairman of Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele.

Accordingly, the new campuses approved by the Senate include: Kabba Law School Campus, Kogi (North Central); Maiduguri Law School Campus, Borno (North East); Argungu Law School Campus, Kebbi (North West); Okija Law School Campus, Anambra (South East); Orogun Law School Campus, Delta (South-South); Ilawe Law School Campus, Ekiti (South West), and Jos Law School Campus (North Central).

The existing campuses are located in: Lagos (South West), Abuja (North Central), Yola (North East), Kano (North West), Enugu (South East), and Yenegoa (South-South).

This brings the total number of law school campuses in the country to 13, excluding the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.