NUC Grants License to Newly Approved Universities in Lagos
National Universities Commission (NUC) Has Granted Provisional Licenses to Newly Established Lagos State University of Education (LASUED) and Lagos State University of Science and Technology (LASUSTECH).

The National Universities Commission NUC has approved the conversion of Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH) to Lagos State University of Science and Technology (LASUSTECH), the Adeniran Ogunsunya College of Education to Adeniran Ogunsunya University of Education (AOUED), and the Micheal Otedola College of Education to Micheal Otedola University of Education (MOUED).

NUC's approval comes after the Lagos state government passed a bill for the establishment of the universities and thereafter officially requested that the NUC help boost the admission quota of students from the state who intend to study at the universities.

Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu and officials of the state were at the NUC headquarters on Tuesday, February 8, in Abuja to pick up the institutions' provisional licenses, and pledged to make resources available for the smooth running of both institutions.

With the provisional licenses, the new universities have now been officially recognized by NUC, JAMB, NYSC, TETFund, and other relevant stakeholders.