The National Universities Commission (NUC) Has Fully Granted Approval to the Maritime University, Okerenkoko (MUO), Delta State, Degree Courses/Programmes Commencing in 2018.

It was an amazing day for the Management of the Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Delta State, as they were been accredited and granted approval by the National Universities Commission (NUC) to commence award of certificates in different degree programmes.

The NUC has finally approved three faculties for the University; namely Faculty of Marine Transport with four departments including Nautical Science and other departments like Transport, Logistics; the third one, Marine Economics and Finance, and lastly, Port Management. Then, Faculty of Engineering; where they have Marine Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum and Gas. Finally, the Faculty of Environmental Management; where they have Environmental Management and Pollution Control, Meteorology and Climate Change, Fisheries and Marine Geology.
A statement by the media aide to the vice president Laolu Akande says the gesture was in line with the Buhari administration’s new vision to develop the Niger Delta region and the Maritime University will be extended all privileges accorded to other Federal Universities.