NUC List of Approved e-Learning Institutions in Nigeria
National Universities Commission (NUC) List of Approved e-Learning Institutions in Nigeria.
The general public is hereby informed that whereas the Commission maintains its stand that online degrees are not accepted in Nigeria at the moment, this does not include the approved Nigerian Universities e-Learning Programme run within the shores of Nigeria.

The Nigerian Universities e-Learning Programme is a legitimate and well thought out pilot elearning initiative. 

It is a Public Private Partnership between the National Universities Commission (NUC), Park Associates E-Learning Group, and four federal universities.

Its goal is to provide new opportunities for students to access university education in Nigeria.

NUC List of Approved e-Learning Institutions in Nigeria

The Thirteen (13) Participating Universities are:


University of Ibadan, Ibadan

Distance Learning Centre


Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife

Centre for Distance Learning


University of Lagos, Akoka

Distance Learning Institute


University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri

Centre for Distance Learning


Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola

Centre for Distance Learning


University of Abuja, Abuja

Centre for Distance Learning and Continuing Education


Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso

LAUTECH Distance Learning Centre


Ahmadu Bello University Zaria

Distance Learning Centre ABU, Zaria


Lagos State University

Lagos State University Open and Distance Learning and Research Institute


Joseph Ayo Babalola University University

JABU Center for Distance Learning


University of Nigeria Nsukka

UNN Center for Distance and e-Learning


Federal University of Technology Minna

Center for Open Distance and e-Learning


Babcock University Ileshan

Center for Open Distance and e-Learning

Students enrolled in the Programme can select any of the following undergraduate degree programmes: Economics, Banking & Finance, Accounting, Business Administration and
Marketing for which they have requisite qualifications

The Programme for now is only available for candidates who wish to obtain BSc Degree in Economics.

The Commission wishes to use this medium to allay all fears and doubts concerning the legitimacy or NUC endorsement of the Nigerian Universities e-Learning Programme.

This is one of the avenues that the National Universities Commission is exploring to increase access to university education without compromising quality.

Students in the Programme are therefore advised to continue to pursue their studies without fear and prospective applicants are encouraged to enrol.

Concerned parents, guardians, students and the general public may contact the Commission for further clarification on the Programme under reference.

Ibrahim UsmanYakasai
Director, Corporate Communications