Oyo State Gov. Renames First Technical University Ibadan
Oyo State Government Under the Leadership of Seyi Makinde of Has Approved the Renaming of the Technical University, Ibadan, to Sen. Abiola Ajimobi First Technical University, Ibadan.

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State has announced the renaming of The Technical University, Ibadan, to Sen. Abiola Ajimobi First Technical University, Ibadan. The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the announcement was made during the institution’s second convocation ceremony held on Friday.

Governor Makinde, the Visitor to the university, noted that the institution has made significant progress since its inception. He said, “today is a good day to honor my predecessor, who established the university,” announcing the decision to rename the institution.

Governor Makinde also revealed that the Governing Council for the institution would be put in place before the end of April. He approved a “Category 3 Primary Health Centre” for the university to provide comprehensive care for students and staff members.

The governor praised the management’s efforts and encouraged the graduates to be good ambassadors for the university and Oyo State. He highlighted his administration’s achievements in the education sector, including improved access to university education and an increase in the number of universities owned by Oyo State.

The Vice Chancellor of the university, Prof. Adesola Ajayi, reported that 165 students graduated from the institution, with 24 earning First Class honors, 76 graduating with Second Class Honours (upper division), 52 with Second Class honours (lower division), and 13 with Third Class.

Prof. Ajayi emphasized the university’s commitment to providing unique opportunities for less privileged students in Oyo State to receive tertiary education. He praised Governor Makinde’s support for the institution, noting that the school management has repaid the trust by adopting global best practices.