NLNG Prize for Literature 2022 [$100,000 Reward] | Call for Entries
Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Calls for Entry to The Literature Prize for Drama With US Dollars ($100, 000.00) Reward, See Eligibility, Submission Procedures, Judges, Winners Presentation and Closing Date for 2022.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature are sponsored by Nigeria LNG Limited. The prize is aimed at bringing Nigerian authors to public attention and celebrating excellence in literary accomplishments in the nation.

With The Nigeria Prize for Literature, it is expected that the quest for a prestigious prize will improve the quality of writing, editing, proof-reading, and publishing in the country with far-reaching positive effect on print and broadcast journalism.

The prizes are administered, on behalf of Nigeria LNG Limited, by the Nigerian Academy of Science and the Advisory Board for Literature made up of members of Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL) and the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA)

Entries are hereby invited for The Nigeria Prize for Literature. The yearly literature prize is endowed by Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Limited to honour the author of the best book by a Nigerian within the last four years.

The prize rotates among four literary genres- prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. This year, the competition is for Prose Fiction.

The competition is open only to published works by Nigerian writers irrespective of place of residence. It carries a reward of $100,000.



  • Twelve (12) copies of the entry and, if available, an e-copy, with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or National Identity card), may be submitted either by author or publisher, in accordance with the genres in competition. Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG Limited‘s External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline.
  • All applicants must submit their entries accompanied by an application form obtainable online from the NLNG website. Completed forms must be printed and submitted along with the entries.
  • No book published before January, 2018 will be accepted.
  • An author will enter only one published work. Mere manuscripts will not be considered. No book previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at a later date, even if major revisions have been made or a new edition published. The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.
  • No member of the Advisory Board or Panel of Judges can enter their work(s) for the award in the period in which they are serving and two years thereafter. No entries will be entertained from members of NLNG staff and their families.
  • Failure to meet all stated conditions above will lead to disqualification of the entry


A panel of judges has been appointed for The Nigeria Prize for Literature by the Advisory Board for Literature.

The appointment of judges has been done to reflect the genre in competition for the year. Persons appointed as judges have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image, and command respect nationally and internationally.

The outcome of the process as approved by the Advisory Board shall be final.

Panel of Judges

  • Prof. Sule Emmanuel Egya (Chairman)
  • Toyin Adewale-Gabriel (Member)
  • Dike Chukwumerije (Member).

International Consultant – Prof. Susan Kiguli

Advisory Board:

  • Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (Chairman)
  • Professor Olu Obafemi (Member)
  • Professor Ahmed Yerima (Member)


Winners will be announced on October, 2022 And Presented to the Public at a later date.


All entries must be received by 8th April, 2022. Late entries will not be entertained.

Entries shall be sent to:
The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
Intels Aba Road Estate
Km 16 Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway
RM.B 5660, Port Harcourt
Rivers State, Nigeria.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
4th Floor, Heron House
10 Dean Farrar Street
London, SW1H 0DX.

Email: [email protected]

Please for further Information visit the Nigeria LNG Limited website